Gifted Hands

When I sit and ponder on all the books I’ve read throughout my twenty years of living, I can’t help but think of the book Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story, which at an early age made a significant difference in my life.

Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story is novel written by the world-renowned Dr. Benjamin S. Carson Sr. For those readers who may not know, Dr. Carson is a full professor at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in neurosurgery, oncology, plastic surgery, and pediatrics. Dr. Carson is now the Benjamin S. Carson, Sr., M.D. and Dr. Evelyn Spiro, R.N. Professor of Pediatric Neurosurgery. Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story is an autobiography of Dr. Ben Carson. 

I was first introduced to this book when I was in the fourth grade. I attended H.O.P.E. Academy in Baltimore, Maryland, and at the time, I  was erollend in the extra credit Bridges Program, which was sponsored by and held at The St. Paul’s School for Boys & St. Paul’s School for Girls campus. My first required reading for the winter session was “Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story. Who would have thought that this book would hold such significance and motivation? My mother, who had previously read the book eagerly, purchased it for me.

Thinking back on the discussions we had after reading the book, the most important theme that recurred was “education” and the importance of it, and its value. Dr. Carson’s mother was a stickler when it pertained to education. We discussed how the lessons and values Mrs. Carson taught her two sons could be applied to or lives.

     Gifted Hands changed my mindset on aspiring to put forth great effort while pursing my education. It also taught me the importance of hard work, sacrifice and dedication when applying myself to my education.

Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson story can be purchased here: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gifted-hands-ben-carson/1100055547

By pierjacobsen

Leave a Reply

