Blog #2: (A) “It’s Always Buzzing or Ringing…”

      Buzz! Chirp! Ring, Ring! Imagine yourself constantly consumed by technology. Is it good or bad? Just ponder on that for a while…

     For my mass communications 101 class, I had to go keep an hour-by-hour daily schedule for two consecutive days of all the media I consumed and was exposed too. Needless to say, my schedule is pretty demanding and it was pretty hard trying to keep up with an hour-by-hour diary.

     On Friday,September 23, 2011, I consumed a day full of media. From the time my eyes open, my day begins with media consumption.  It starts with my cell phone alarm going off at 9:30 am to wake me up and start getting ready for class.  I also usually still have my television on, because I fall asleep with it on. I know, I know, I’m a victim intense media consumption.

     My cell phone alerted me when it was time to catch my shuttle to class, and what time class would be starting, all while listening to my iPod at the same time and checking Facebook. Hey, what can I say, “I’m good at multitasking”!

     You can basically say, every hour, I’m on my cell phone either texting, checking the time, my calendar, emails, or listening to my iPod. Since I have an Iphone, I can do some of these actions simultaneously.

    Day 2, September 24, 2011, was pretty much the same. My world revolves around media. I woke up to my phones alarm once again. Shortly
after waking up, I received a call from my cosmetologist confirming my hair appointment. While driving, I listen to my iPod and the radio, alternating between both. I also watched television and listen to the commercials for my entire time at the hair salon.

     Let’s just say, I had a pretty major need and addiction to media consumption. I was really surprised at how much time in a day I spend on
my cell phone. I very seldom put it down. The only time I’m usually not on it, is if I’m in class. Clearly my learning about the world, takes place through technology, whether it be texting, watching television, emails, or through social networking sites; its apart of my everyday life. Is it apart of yours?

By pierjacobsen

Leave a Reply

