“Media Consumption, aka…The Subconscious Addiction…”

So, here’s PartB of blog #2: As you know, from my earlier blog entry, “its Always Buzzing or
Ringing…”, I am blogging about my daily consumption of media. Well, in this
blog, I will do my best to depict my attempt of going without media consumption
for two consecutive days.

Imagine yourself walking across your busy college campus, in a hurry, because you’re
not sure what time it is, because you haven’t worn your watch in a while, because
you depend on your Iphone, computer, iPod, and television. Well today is your
first day without your phone and any other form of technology, because you’re
trying to see what your everyday life would be like without the key pieces of
technology in our everyday lives; try 2 days without it…

Can you stand the heat, or will you succumb to the burning “consumption” of media? Let see how I did!

Oh my! Trying to go without media for two straight days was a rough task, and not very successful
task. Sunday, September 25, 2011, & Monday, September 26, 2011, were two
stressful days. Who would have thought that a day, let alone and hour, without
media consumption was a tough task.

Well it was a tough task for me! The most time I spent without media, was The two hours I
spent at church, on Sunday. However, I was able to go without media for other
times, within in my 2 day span. Can I specifically tell you those instances?
Not at all!

The hardest part of it all, was that I totally subconsciously  kept forgetting that I  to go without
media, because It’s apart of my everyday life. I didn’t cry or crack under
pressure, I just kept forgetting. This was definitely an involuntary mistake.

There were a few disadvantages, to having to go without media for two days straight.
For one, I work a job, where my manager only for of contact with me is either
through a text message, or phone call. Second, my parents, like to hear from me
to see how I’m doing. Last, but not least, the major disadvantage of all, is
that everything for my four college course revolve around using the internet. A
day without my technology would have caused me to begin to fall behind in my
coursework. That definitely wasn’t happening! So, of course I logged on to my
blackboard, and check emails from my phone. This would definitely be considered
voluntary exposure to media.

However, the one advantage I have enjoyed about not responding to any piece of technology,
was peace of mind. When I wasn’t watching television, or on my phone, or
laptop; which are my main media consumptions, my brain was able to just relax.

I wasn’t very successful in avoiding media. Even when punished as a child, I found away to
watch television, because I just couldn’t go without it. Watching television
really relaxes me, and helps me to wind down from my day.

I definitely see, that my media habits, are pretty bad, and need be adjusted in some instances,
however, society now revolves, and will continue to revolve around media consumption. So, I guess you
can say that I’m keeping up with society, and preparing for the future. If that makes me an over consumer of media, that’s okay, because I’m not the only guilty one.

So, did you imagine your life without media…? Clearly you didn’t do the best of job, if you’re reading this! LOL

*Pier
Jacobsen*

 

By pierjacobsen

Leave a Reply

